Sunday Ramblings – a holiday, featured writers and a shadowy flash fiction challenge – oh my!

I have arrived home from my 10 day holiday in Borth, Wales. The first few days it rained at night and was rather miserable for the first part of the day but then cleared up for the lovely afternoons. Then towards the final few days it became sunny and very warm. Driving home today though the rain came back again which made it so much easier to leave. I did not manage to get any writing done while I was away and I only read two novels which is quite unusual. The little people kept me very busy with the trips to the beach and the building of memories.

While I was away I have had some of my fabulous writer friends featured on my blog. I want to thank them all, they are really fantastic! I genuinely enjoyed doing the featured writer posts and have had such great feedback from them that I have decided to carry on doing them. I have not decided whether they will be a weekly, biweekly or monthly spot but they certainly will continue so watch this space.

Two weeks ago I issued a flash fiction challenge with sinister as a theme. I had two entries to the challenge. Here are the stories in case you have not got the chance to read them yet:

Scott joined in with his story – Breaking-up: Someone always gets hurt 

Walking the Pattern gave us – Sinister 

Feedback from the challenges has been positive but I have been told there are just too many weekly challenges and people are having trouble entering them all. So I decided to carry on with the challenge but make it a biweekly challenge instead. So here it is:

The theme for the next two weeks is shadows. Your story can be up to 1000 words in any genre you wish. It must somehow contain the theme of shadows. Anyone is welcome to join in. Just post a link to your story in the comments section so we know where to go looking for it. Have fun and I look forward to reading them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Billie Jo Woods

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Featured Writers, Mad Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sunday Ramblings – a holiday, featured writers and a shadowy flash fiction challenge – oh my!

  1. billy jo, somehow i missed your “sinister” challenge notification. i had surgery the twenty fourth and have been somewhat loopy on pain meds. but, if you will accept it at this late date, i would like to offer one that, if the comments it generated are anything to go by, definitely could be described as “sinister”…or “dark”…or “eerie”…or “creepy”…just a few of the terms that were applied to it.

    dark enough in fact that one commenter seemed concerned that it was TOO dark.

    with your gracious forbearance over the lateness of this entry, i would like to offer
    THE AWAKENING for you viewing and reading pleasure…or goosebumps.

    https://1wordywoman.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/the-awakening-inmon-xix-prompt-response-all-six-prompts-in-one-story/

    i would also be honored if you could give the one i wrote last night, IMPOSSIBLE LOVE, an opinion read, no comment required other than if you thought it would do,

    https://1wordywoman.wordpress.com/2011/06/05/impossible-love/

    you, and a couple of others, are about the only ones on this site that even seem to read my stuff, and to know what you are talking about when it comes to writing, so i would highly value your opinion on both pieces. you may, if it makes you feel better, email me directly at words2ponder@gmail.com.

    thank you in advance, just in case you actually DO read either or both of the pieces.

    marantha jenelle

  2. Selena Wolff says:

    Welcome home, Billie Jo! And Shadows is too good to pass up! I’m on it!

  3. Glad you had a good trip – but, oh, there’s no place like home :)

    I meant to enter “Sinister” but simply ran out of time. There were three I was going to try. However, out of survival instinct I am going to cut back on my workload. Maybe I can get to “Shadows” in two weeks.

    • Thanks Sandra! I haven’t done as many challenges lately as I would have liked either. I would love to see what you come up with for shadows though. Hope you are not too busy.

  4. Welcome home! I loved participating in your featured writers series and reading about the other writers.

    I’ve slowed way down on writing challenges. I’ve been in the novel-writing mode. It’s consuming a lot of my creativity right now. :D I do love the writing challenges so much though.

    • Thanks Sonia, it was really great having you and the other featured writers on. I have been neglecting my novels slightly, at least the writing of them anyway but I am brewing ideas for them so I guess that is okay too.

  5. KenBroad says:

    Hey Billie,

    Found a bit of time to check in on WordPress today. Very glad that you had a good time during your trip. My little ones, are sadly no longer little. Enjoy these moments, because they seem to speed by!

    Thank you again for including me in the featured writers!

    Sorry that I didn’t get the chance to submit something for the challenge, things are still blasting along at full tilt and writing is just not in the cards right now. But … I can now see the light at the end of the tunnel, so hopefully I’ll be back at it soon.

    Cheers!

  6. yikici says:

    Heya Billie Jo, welcome back -sounds like you had a fun holiday :)
    I have written something that I feel may have elements of ‘shadows’ -you can decide -if and when I manage to post it on wordpress (it’s playing up at the moment so I will do my best to post it) -if not tonight definately tomorrow. I hope that’s ok.

    • yikici says:

      Ermmm… I just realised I still have a week! No rush it seems -why did I think the 12th was a deadline! I think I need to have an early night. Ignore my previous comment; I’ll link the story calmly within the week seeing its already complete :) Now I will concentrate on tomorrows post…. Nite

  7. Pingback: Getting Organised! « yikici

  8. Pingback: Challenge Taken: Shadowy Sunday « yikici

  9. Pingback: Sunday Picture Press VII | Indigo Spider

  10. Pingback: yikici | Challenge Taken: Shadowy Sunday

  11. Pingback: yikici | Getting Organised!

Leave a Reply

