Writer or Author?

I have always wanted to be a writer because I am a writer at heart and have been since I was about six years old. I love words. I love combining them to make new sentences. I love looking at them both in type and in handwriting.

I have a very active imagination. I have always been a dreamer. Writing has always allowed me to take the wonders that danced through my head and cast them out into the world. This is something I have done naturally for as long as I can remember. I have written short stories during my school years, turned my hand to writing heart wrenching song lyrics during those awkward teen years and now as an adult I spend hours lost in the wonderful worlds I create in the novels I write. So recently I have come to terms with the idea that yes I actually am a writer.

So now I want to be an author. What is the difference? That is a good question. To me a writer is someone who puts in words the ideas that come to them. These words may never be read by another human but they are out there in the world and are alive in their own right. To me an author is someone who writes not just for their own enjoyment but for others enjoyment as well. To me an author has an audience.

I have written a few novels over the past couple years. I loved writing them and once I put them away for a while I enjoy picking them up and reading them again. The thing is these novels have never been read by anyone other than me with the exception of one. I have decided to give this author dream a bit of a chance and have a go at getting published. I decided to start this blog as a way to document my journey from writer to author and I suppose if you are reading this than I am already on my way there.

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Writing Journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Writer or Author?

  1. Good luck!
    Are you starting a new story or going back over a novel you’ve already written?

    • usaukwoods says:

      I am about 45,000 words into a new novel but have hit a bit of a wall and am not sure which way the character is going to go. In the meantime I have picked up something I was working on quite a while ago to revisit it and decided I may be able to get it to work if I go in a little different direction with it. Usually I work from start to finish on one book before working on another but rather than not write at all while I mull this decision over I thought I may try working on something else for a bit.

  2. It is interesting how sometimes you don’t like something as you’re writing it, but then you put it away for a little while and come back to it and that’s when you see some of its true potential. Good luck in you journey to become an author!

  3. Pingback: Free Events For Writer’s | Kristi Bernard

Leave a Reply

