Sorry – My Entry Into an April Writing Challenge

Sonia M. posted this April writing challenge asking writers to write a story using only dialogue, no descriptors and no speech tags. You can get to her blog via my blogroll at the right. At first I was tempted to lurk and just watch the challenge this month since I am new to the blog scene. However, I can always use a bit of a challenge to keep me from writing too much in my comfort zone. I usually write Young Adult Fantasy or Paranormal Fiction so anything outside of that is new territory.

Sorry

“I am sorry.”

“It is too late for sorry.”

“I couldn’t help it, it was like an addiction.”

“Did you not even once think about me?”

“I don’t know what you want me to say.”

“Don’t say anything. It would only be words anyway and words don’t matter actions do and you have certainly already acted.”

“I can change.”

“What is the saying about a tiger changing its stripes?”

“Well what do you want me to do?”

“Tell me why you did it?”

“It was in part the excitement knowing I might get caught. I just couldn’t help myself, you were so preoccupied with the wedding plans and there were too many temptations with all those other women around me all the time. It made it so easy to do. I am really sorry.”

“Move over so I can sit down and then listen carefully to what I have to say. You can have your life back, all of it, the way it was before but there is a price.”

“I want to pay for my actions. I promise I will go to all of your female relatives your grandmother, your mother, your sisters and even Great Aunt Rita and I will apologise for my actions.”

“It is not that easy. You must promise to spend at least an hour a day at the gym and not to eat anything unhealthy again until after we are married?”

“I promise.”

“Good because we all want to look our best on the big day now don’t we?”

“Yes dear.”

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sorry – My Entry Into an April Writing Challenge

  1. Sonia M. says:

    Nicely done. A little bit of a twist at the end. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Blogs are Alive with the Sound of Writing Challenges | Doing the Write Thing

  3. Pingback: May Writing Challenge – Get Twisted | Sonia G Medeiros is Doing the Write Thing

  4. Janel says:

    I certainly didn’t expect that ending! Really liked the twist.

Leave a Reply

