What sparks your creativity?

Some days it seems that I sit down to write and I can’t hit the keys fast enough to get out all the details my brain no longer wants to hold. There is such an overwhelming feeling of urgency to tell the story with loads of lovely little flourishes that make it dance with life.

Other days I just feel stuck and can’t seem to get very many words out at all. The words feel flat to me. They are clearly not how I wanted them to be. These are the days I usually choose another project to work on. But today I got to thinking, perhaps there is a better solution.

Why does the muse visit and bring such lavish gifts one day but not visit at all on another? I think it mainly has to do with external inspiration. Lucky for me inspiration comes in many forms. If I read a book that really sucks me in, I find when I finish it, my drive to write sky rockets. It can even be written in a completely different genre and voice than my work in progress.

I love art, music and film as well. They all  seem to have the same effect on me. If I am moved by anything creative then I feel my desire to create grow as well. So I was thinking, perhaps next time I am feeling a bit of a block I might just put on one of my favourite films instead of staring at a blank screen.

What inspires you and makes your creativity flow?

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Writing Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

