Read it or watch it?

Short post today:

I really hate to admit it because I am not a big television watcher but one of my guilty little pleasures is watching The Vampire Diaries. I had read the original series of books back in the early nineties and enjoyed them. Most of the time I hate it when a book is butchered in the process of being turned into a television series or film but with this series the differences and most of them are quite major have never mattered to me. I suppose I enjoy them as two separate entities.

What books do you find were better to read than watch? What films/tv series do you love that have come from books?

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Mad Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Read it or watch it?

  1. I can’t really say that I’ve seen too many tv series made from books, but I am super excited for A GAME OF THRONES to come out on HBO. I think it’s coming out this month, and it’s really making me wish I had cable so I wouldn’t have to wait for it to come out on dvd to watch it.

    • I watched a few of the teasers for that and it does look like it was beautifully shot and hopefully follows the books closely. It is due on Sky here but I don’t have Sky so I will have to watch it on dvd as well.

  2. Game of Thrones. And it’s as good as the book. Some of the characters motivations are slightly different – adapted to make things work for film, but otherwise it’s wonderful!!! But then the book is too.

  3. andrewmocete says:

    Dexter. The first book and season were similar, but later seasons have gone off on their own. They’re really good while staying true to the character in the book. I approve.

    • I read Darkly Dreaming Dexter but have not seen the series. I think if the television series is more like a spin off from the book than I am more accepting of the differences. I have read reviews of Dexter and they all say similar things to what you said, the first series was taken more closely from the book but those that followed were created directly for television.

  4. I usually prefer to read the book version, as much of the information is lost in the process of adapting it. It does however add an additional dimension to the book version if you have seen a series or film based on it.

    • I have watched television and films adapted from books and have literally cringed the entire time or found myself shouting at the screen, “No it didn’t happen that way.”

      I must admit many times I have hated the film versions of books that were my childhood favourites but there have been some modern ones that really have gotten to me as well.

  5. Pingback: Books to Film – Tips for Hollywood « bardicblogger

Leave a Reply

