Secret Sunday – Writer’s challenge

Since creating my blog, I’ve had the opportunity to take part in some really fabulous writing challenges. I have worked within the confines of prompts, limited word counts, word lists and even tried new genres. These challenges have helped sharpen both my writing and editing skills.

I decided that I would in turn issue my own challenge. If you are up to it and are not too busy with your own work in progress or the other wonderful challenges out there, I welcome you to participate.

So here it is:

Write a flash fiction piece having no more than 500 words. You can write in any genre you want but the story must include a secret of some sort. Publish your story on your own blog and then paste a link here in the comments section. I hope you have fun with it and I can’t wait to read what you all come up with.

The challenge ends Saturday, May 7th.

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Secret Sunday – Writer’s challenge

  1. Pingback: Secret Sunday Challenge « Craig Towsley

  2. Hey there. I wandered onto this challenge and thought it could be fun. So I tried. (I think this may be a bit too subtle. Or not subtle enough.)

    http://cleveroldowl.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/secret-sunday-challenge/

    later,
    Craig

  3. KenBroad says:

    Billie Jo,

    Excellent challenge. Thanks!

  4. Jody Moller says:

    Hi Billie Jo,

    Here is my attempt. Hope you like it. Hope it makes sense!

    http://jodymoller.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/the-secret/

    Jody

  5. Pingback: Summer Fair | A space to be Me

  6. yikici says:

    Oooo… This sounds like fun… only 2 days left… I must put on my thinking cap… 🙂

  7. Pingback: Challenge Taken: Secret Sunday Flash Fiction « yikici

  8. Pingback: The Big Secret | Short Stories

  9. Pingback: The Big Secret | Short Stories

  10. Mike says:

    I know I’ve left this a bit late.
    Here it is anyway – hopefully just in time!
    http://mjshorts.wordpress.com/2011/05/06/the-big-secret/

  11. Pingback: Meet Me By the 501st « Fictional Campfire

  12. KenBroad says:

    Sorry for the late post. Life is insane “write” now!

    http://fictionalcampfire.wordpress.com/2011/05/07/meet-me-by-the-501st/

    Hope you like it.

  13. Ack! It looks like I’m a little late for this one. I hope you have one for next week!

  14. Selena Wolff says:

    Hi Billie Jo! I’ve been away and didn’t get the chance to participate. I’m sorry that I missed it! Love the challenge idea!

  15. Pingback: yikici Challenge Taken: Secret Sunday Flash Fiction - yikici

Leave a Reply

