Sunday Snap – Carousel Magic – Writing Challenge

Ken over at Fictional Campfire issued a Sunday Snap writing challenge using a photo prompt. The flash fiction piece had to be 500 words or less, I just squeaked in at 500. Here is the photo and my story is below:

Carousel Magic

The journey was a long one but the ones really worth taking in life usually are. It was a beautiful summer day. I had nothing to complain about. I’d arrived by ferry and was immediately transported back in time, so little had change in sixty years. Many of the old buildings remained untouched.

The gingerbread cottage in Oak Bluffs had belonged to someone in my family since the 1890s. My niece was now the proud owner. I did not like the bubble gum colour she had chosen to paint it but it hadn’t really changed otherwise.

Being back again meant I couldn’t help but remember Rose. My kid brother had convinced me to take him to the beach that day. Our parents were attending a meeting at the tabernacle. I was nearly eighteen. It was not exactly how I wanted to spend the day, my fair skin burnt easily and I preferred the picture house.

I noticed the caramel colour of her long silky legs first, she wore a swimsuit that accented every curve, her hair framed her lovely face and I knew I’d never seen beauty like that before. She was with friends and I couldn’t approach her, I wouldn’t have had the nerve anyway. She caught me staring and gave me an impish grin. I spent the rest of the day thinking about her.

After dinner I wandered back to the beach, I couldn’t believe my eyes. She was there and this time she was alone too. I stopped to study her. Then she turned and saw me.

“You were staring at me again,” She didn’t seem bothered.

“Sorry, I didn’t mean to.” I tried to look away.

“I think you did,” There was a teasing tone to her voice as she walked towards me.

I spent the next couple weeks sneaking off every chance I got to meet her. I knew my family wouldn’t approve but I couldn’t help it, there was magic about her.

The last thing we did together was visit a fortune-teller for a bit of fun, it was another activity my parents were better off not knowing about.

“Young love can be cruel, you cannot be together in this time for obvious reasons but if your hearts are true and you happen to meet in your favourite spot many years from now fate will grant you a second chance,” Rose and I couldn’t help but laugh at our fortune. That was the last memory of her I had. I left the next morning and never returned to Oak Bluffs again.

I sat on the Flying Horses Carousel and looked around foolishly as it turned. What did I expect to happen? When it stopped, I was reluctant to get off.

I caught a glimpse of my younger self in a mirror as I neared the exit, the mind plays awful tricks when you reach my age. I walked out through the door and saw my angel, she was just as I remembered her.

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Snap – Carousel Magic – Writing Challenge

  1. lynnette-net says:

    hello! chanced upon your blog and i really like your writings! i’ll be reading more in future and probably trying to imitate some, if you don’t mind! 🙂

  2. Haunting. So short but sweet.

  3. KenBroad says:

    Loved it!. Thank you for joining in, Billie Jo.

  4. Pingback: Sunday Snap « Fictional Campfire

Leave a Reply

