Things only children know…

Inspiration Monday X, over on be kind rewrite challenged us to use one of the given prompts to write a flash fiction piece. Here is the prompt I chose and my offering:

Things only children know…

“I don’t know why I even bothered doing the laundry,” I tried to get the grass stains out of the jeans that had only been worn once. It was no use, yet another item of clothing was stained for good. I’d have to invest in some better stain remover later when I went shopping.

“We’re going to get some groceries after you finish your breakfast.” I turned around just in time to see the now naked body behind me attempt to shove a Cheerio up its nose.

“Don’t do that.” I pulled away the sticky hand and freed the little ring from its grip.

“I hate shopping, I don’t wanna go,” the bowl containing Cheerios flew across the room, hit the wall and released its contents everywhere in the kitchen.

I just about exploded, so I sent the little monster to his room so I could have a time out and told it to get dressed.

Thump, thump, thump was the sound coming down the stairs moments later. “Bobby, stop making that noise, the neighbours are trying to sleep.” I shouted. Then I wiped up the last bit of milk off the floor.

I heard the shuffle of little feet behind me and spun around to face a miniature Batman, “I thought I told you to get ready.”

“I am ready mum.” I didn’t have the energy to engage in another battle.

“Come on then, I’ll race you to the car,” He won, he always won.

On the way to the store we got stuck waiting in traffic. “Why are we not driving mum?”

“I don’t know Bobby,” I was annoyed myself, especially since I had to endure The Wheels on the Bus CD over and over again.

Finally, we reached the store but now it was crowded. I did my best to manoeuvre the trolley through the aisles of disgruntled people who’d also left their bank holiday weekend shopping until the very last minute.

Fortunately, I made it to the till with most of the items on my list and without any major incidents other than when Bobby asked, “Why does that man have a baby in his tummy?” loud enough for the man to hear.

Unfortunately, our till lane was one of the ones stocked with sweets. The woman behind me glared at me as my child kicked and screamed and I tried my best to ignore his pleas for sugar.

An hour later the groceries were finally put away and lunch had been consumed. I entered the living room to find yogurt dripping on the carpet. Its source was the relaxed hand of a four-year old boy, upside down and asleep in the dog’s bed.

I cleaned up the yogurt and then picked up the boy. As I held him on my lap, I couldn’t help but smile. He was so perfect. Only children know how to do so many things wrong but at the same time do everything so right.

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Things only children know…

  1. this is absolutely wonderful! great job! aren’t these prompts splendiferous? she does such a great job coming up with them. and they aren’t just your run of the mill ones either! she really makes us put our thinking caps on. i am getting addicted, to be truthful.

    i envy you, though, i really do, you convey so much in so few words! me, though, i take five pages to convey one idea! hey, i don’t call myself “1wordywoman” for nothing!

    blessings sweetie, and keep up the absolutely great job you have been doing,

    marantha jenelle

  2. Thank you for taking the time to read it and for all the lovely things you had to say. I am a bit addicted to flash fiction myself.
    Take care,
    Billie Jo

  3. Loved it…you are either a ‘mum’ or you’ve got some little people in your life that you love to know this.

  4. Haha. This leaves me both excited and terrified to have kids. Great piece.

  5. This was great. It took me back 35 years to a place I would like to revisit in real life and often do in my head.You did that for me today. Thank you!

    • Thank you for the greatest compliment. I love writing that makes me feel or live the words, I am glad I could do that for you. This is very much real for me in the present day and My two are growing so fast I try to hold on to every little memory. Glad you stopped by!

  6. Pingback: Inspiration Monday XI « BeKindRewrite

  7. pattisj says:

    Yes, this was truly written by a mother. 🙂 Enjoyed it.

  8. Kay Camden says:

    Yes. Boys at this age are only sweet when they are unconscious. Kidding, of course. Okay, maybe I’m not. But I wouldn’t change it for a million bucks. You captured it well.

  9. Pingback: Inspiration Monday XI | bekindrewrite

Leave a Reply

