Please Leave a Comment and Be a Blogger Booster (via Kristen Lamb’s Blog)

Why do people not always comment on each other’s blogs? Today one of my blog’s most supportive readers raised this question and I must admit two things:

1 – It is a question I have wondered myself, especially when I have read a super fantastic post and nobody else has commented on it. I have seen other blogger’s posts asking the same thing.

2 – It is something I too have been guilty of.

When I was a newbie blogger not all that long ago. It seemed that the blogs I was reading were clearly part of some type of community. I could tell because there was often a sense of familiarity between the blogger and commenters. I felt as though I may have somehow been intruding on something if I too commented. After all did they really care what I had to say? The answer was yes. After I got over myself and began to join in with the commenting I soon found I felt as though I was part of the community too.

When I became more adventurous and experimented more with twitter, I again began travelling outside my comfort zone. There were new blogs that I was reading and new communities that I was not part of. Would they be as accepting of a comment from a stranger as the people within my own blogging community? The answer was again yes.

The final issue I have created for myself surrounding lack of commenting had to do more with my own insecurities. If I really enjoyed a blog post and it seemed very clever and the comments were equally as clever I would find commenting extremely difficult for fear of being judged as unwitty. Also, I found equal difficulty commenting on something if several others had written very similar things to what I was about to write, I suppose for lack of coming across as unoriginal. Absolute rubbish thinking on my part, I know but I am learning to get over this and I always tick the thumbs up or like option at the very least before leaving the post.

Now that you all know my dirty little secrets surrounding commenting on posts, I will get back on track. One of the blogs I read the most is Kristen Lamb’s although I am guilty of not always commenting there either. Kristen had a post about being a blogger booster awhile back and I feel that this is the perfect opportunity to share it. Basically it brought to my attention the importance of embracing and establishing myself within the social media community through blog post comments. So here it is for those who have not read it.

One of the Best Ways to Build Our Social Media Platform--Be a Blogger Booster Historically, novelists have endured a mind-numbing failure rate. Social media has, for the first time in writer history, given us a break in the clouds. We now have a way of building a platform and increasing word of mouth by forging relationships, etc, etc. Yeah, you guys hear me preach this every week and I am happy you are still here, because this can get very overwhelming. I happen to be a HUGE proponent of writers having a blog.  But today … Read More

via Kristen Lamb's Blog

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Mad Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Please Leave a Comment and Be a Blogger Booster (via Kristen Lamb’s Blog)

  1. Sara says:

    I think we all felt that way at one point. I just recently started a blog and got on Twitter, and just started talking to people I didn’t know and reading/commenting on blogs I found interesting, and I too found that people are generally receptive. That’s the beauty of online communities, and not just for writing, but any interest. People are there because they WANT to communicate. The internet is just one big communication tool after all.

    Thanks for linking to Kristen’s post…now I’ll go read that!
    Nice to meet you Billie Jo!

  2. Hektor Karl says:

    Well said, Billie Jo.

    Another factor that limits commenting (at least for me, and I doubt I’m alone):
    I tend to read blogs via RSS readers, so comments are out-of-sight/out-of-mind. I have favorite blogs that I read every day without ever visiting the actual page.

  3. Gene Lempp says:

    Great post Billie!

    I always try to comment, but, you are not alone. Sometimes nothing clever comes to mind or I don’t feel I can contribute for one reason or another and hesitate. A few months ago I decided that I would change this and always comment, no matter what. After all the blogger took the time to write and the least I could do was let them know how much I appreciated their efforts.

    Thanks for a wonderful post 🙂

  4. pathunstrom says:

    Unfortunately, I still have a bad habit of leaving blogs without commenting, but part of that is the depth of blogs I keep up on. My RSS has over 60, some of those actually aggregate blogs that are feeding me dozens of blogs in one package. Add to that the blogs I pick up through my twitter streams, and I could be spending all day responding to blogs!

    That said, I still feel it’s important to chime in, and if the topic is particularly well presented or novel, I’m guaranteed to leave a comment. The ‘blogosphere’ is as much a community as anything else on the internet, and it’d be impossible for me to keep blogging without the little bits of communication between blogs, or even via blog responses.

    Good show.

  5. Robin Lythgoe says:

    I am glad to be reading posts like yours. I think they help encourage those of us who are timid and feeling un-clever to post anyway. Even if we manage to put our foot in our mouth, at least the blog author knows that people care!

  6. Kaitee says:

    I have to say I’m guilty of being a little bit on the shy side myself.

    There’s a lot of blogs out there that I read that I don’t always comment on. Also, sometimes when I find a new one that’s interesting, I tend to spend my time reading all the old posts and running out of time to comment 🙂

    • I hadn’t thought of that one at the time but I have done that before myself. I sometimes read them first thing in the morning and then realise I need to rush to get to work.

  7. Yes, I enjoy Kristen’s blog too. She’s often very funny. I rarely post a comment though, as she doesn’t respond (to me, anyway) and I always skip the last half because it’s the same stuff. I don’t enjoy feeling I am being ‘recruited’ for a person’s headcount. I enjoy reaching out to those who interest me and who are interested in me.
    Another thing that can prevent me from commenting is when a person posts frequently. I follow many blogs and if someone is doing a post a day, it too much for me to stop and comment on every one, even if I read them. I have a friend who is doing a post a day as a challenge to herself. She recently confided in me that her comments have dropped off. Since she’s an excellent writer I’m quite sure it’s because people are getting a bit exhausted by the frequency of the posts.
    I always enjoy reading your little stories you do, Billie. 🙂

    • Thanks Cynthia! I think if your friend looks, she may find her total visits has increased even if her comment count is low. I would rather have people make meaningful comments on my blog rather than just try to bump up the numbers. I think it is more honest and helpful that way. I even prefer when people let me know when my stories are not clear, it helps me to be a better writer.

  8. Selena says:

    Great post, Billie.
    I haven’t been blogging for long and it took me some time to join in. It was brought to my attention by a friend that I had a lot of hits on the site stats but didn’t have nearly that many comments. I figured if I wanted conversation, I’d better be commenting and so, with foot in mouth many times, I jumped in. I am not sorry, either.

    This brings up a great point and shows us that we are not alone! Thanks!

    • Thank you Selena. I think we do ourselves a favour when we take the time and try and reach out to other bloggers/writers. It helps us to become part of a supportive community with other people who understand what it is like to work, have a family, have a life and still have a desire to create. Not everyone in our daily lives always understands that.

  9. Jody Moller says:

    Great post Billie Jo.
    I felt the same way when I first starting blogging… like I was invading the personal space of a group of tight knit friends.
    I am definately going to have to try this twitter-thing!

  10. I am sometimes guilty of not leaving a comment. Sometimes I just don’t know what to say. My brain is fried or something. 😀 So, I read and appreciate but don’t always comment. I try to at least say something tho…now I’ll try harder. 😀

  11. Bayley Trew says:

    Hi Billie Jo Woods. I just want to say; what a great post. I have felt the same and now I understand how important it is to comment as it is to receive comments.
    I write something new everyday and have put one hour a day aside to get involved with other blogs. I am trying harder. Love your writing. Inspiring and very creative. ;o)

  12. Pingback: How a blog can connect people « My english thoughts

Leave a Reply

