Spacey Sunday – Flash Fiction Challenge

Official portrait of Gordon Cooper while weari...

Leroy Gordon Cooper, Jr.

Last week’s flash fiction challenge theme was sabotage and three writers put forth three fabulous yet very different stories. Please check them out if you have not read them yet:

Ken Broad wrote F.B.T.I.

Sonia G Medeiros wrote The Machine

Yikici wrote The Quest for the Hidden Dagger

On this day in 1958 the Soviet Union launched Sputnik 3 and on this day in 1960 it launched Sputnik 4. Then in 1963 the last Project Mercury mission launched which saw Leroy Gordon Cooper, Jr. become the first American to sleep in orbit. This is why this week’s challenge is entitled Spacey Sunday. However you can interpret the word spacey any way you want.

The rules:

Write a flash fiction piece of 1000 words or less in any genre you want (a space theme not in the sci-fi genre could be a real challenge). You must use the spacey theme. Post your story by May 21st on your own blog and then put a link in the comments section below so I can find it.

Have fun writing! I certainly look forward to reading what you create!

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spacey Sunday – Flash Fiction Challenge

  1. yikici says:

    Spacey? This should be interesting to work with… So I can interpret the word spacey as loosely as I want to? Or does some space elements have to be present? I wouldnt want to be disqualified if I got the terminology incorrect! -I am known to ask questions -even if they seem silly -how else would we learn?! 🙂

  2. farouk says:

    This sounds like an interesting competition , i like the idea 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Universe and Beyond! « Fictional Campfire

  4. yikici says:

    Heya Billie Jo, I lost some valuable writing days and could not complete this challenge; I did try to combine it with another challenge, not sure if I suceeded as I hoped; I tried to use the word spacey in terms of the following:

    Main Entry: spacey/spacy
    Part of Speech: adjective
    Definition: eccentric
    Synonyms: beat*, bizarre, crazy, dizzy, erratic, far out, flaky, flighty, freakish, kooky, nutty, odd, oddball, off the wall, off-center, offbeat, out in left field, out to lunch, peculiar, quirky, spaced out, strange, way out, weird
    * = informal/non-formal usage

    (Taken from http://thesaurus.com/browse/spacey )

    I haven’t linked it yet but if you want I can link it here -saying that I understand if time has run out… Apologies for not being able complete this in time and also for it not being quite what I envisioned it to be. A rather dismal attempt on my part 😦

  5. Pingback: Challenge Taken: The Keepsake « yikici

  6. Pingback: yikici | Challenge Taken: The Keepsake

Leave a Reply

