Fancy a challenge? Flash Fiction Monday Mashup

Hi my name is Billie Jo and I am a flash fiction addict. Seriously, I am. Since starting my blog a few months ago, I have joined in several weekly, monthly and one-off flash fiction challenges and really enjoyed doing them. I have even started hosting one every Sunday. Not only do I enjoy the writing challenge they present but I love reading what everyone else writes as well.

If you want to join in but don’t know where to start, here is a list and brief description of the ones I participate in regularly or have at least been tempted to try.

Weekly Challenges:

Inspiration Monday is hosted by BeKindRewrite – For this challenge writers are given a few prompts to choose from and are to use the theme either in their writing or as inspiration for their writing. There is not really a word count limit unless you really want one and then it is 500 words or less. New prompts are usually posted on a Monday.

Chuck Wendig at Terrible Minds usually hosts some form of flash fiction challenge. The themes of these challenges tend to be quite varied as do the rules but they can be quite a twist on the tradition flash fiction challenge.

Sunday Snap at Fictional Campfire is another weekly challenge. For this challenge writers are encouraged to write a story based on a photo. The photos so far have been fantastically inspiring as they are absolutely amazing in their own right. The word limit is usually 500 or less for these challenges.

Flash Fiction Friday at Solitary Words challenges writers to write a story of 500 words or less. The story must include the three solitary words provided and be written in the chosen genre for that week.

Recently I discovered Velvet Verbosity has a 100 word challenge each week. The story should be written based on the current prompt and be 100 words in length.

Sunday Picture Press by Indigo Spider provides writers with a picture prompt  and the challenge is to write a piece 500 words or less. Then if you want an added challenge you have the option of going tandem and pairing up with another writer to complete the challenge as a team cowriting the story.

My weekly flash fiction challenge is posted every Sunday. I usually select a theme based on an S for Sunday word. Past themes have included Secrets and Sabotage. The word count is usually 500 or less but this month I felt generous so I made it 1,000 or less.

Monthly Challenges:

50 word challenges are often hosted by Cafe Muravyets – These challenges often include a list of words you must use within your story or some other clever little twist to add to the challenge.

Haley Whitehall at Soldiering through the writing world hosts a monthly challenge. She usually provides writers with a starter sentence to use as a story prompt. The word count is usually 500 words or less. The story must be a story (must have beginning, middle and end).

Sonia G Medeiros usually provides a fabulous flash fiction challenge each month over on her blog. The theme for the challenge changes but the word count is usually under 500 words.

If I have missed any of your challenges please feel free to post a link in the comments section below so we can check it. Happy writing everyone!

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fancy a challenge? Flash Fiction Monday Mashup

  1. Indigo Spider says:

    Thanks for the mention Billie Jo and thanks for this list. I enjoy trying various challenges so I will be sure to check these out; convenient to have them all in one place.

  2. KenBroad says:

    Billie Jo,

    Thanks for putting these all in one spot!

  3. Angela says:

    WOW that is a lot of challenges I LOVE IT. Now I sort of want to puke at the sheer number of them, you go girl! There will be an blog award for you on my blog very shortly.

  4. Wow, Billie Jo, what a service to us all to have all these challenges in one spot. Thanks very much. Do you mind if I reblog it at my site?

  5. knot2share says:

    Good thinking to have them all in one place. I did read on a blog enquiring about blogging challenges. I might direct them to your post, if that is what they had asked for. Let me read it again!

    Words are getting expensive now – 1000 words to 500 words to 100 words to 50 words! my my…………..

  6. Pingback: Perfectly Prompted!

  7. Pingback: Writing Prompt:Unconscious « bardicblogger

Leave a Reply

