Selena Wolff is Tuesday’s Featured Writer on Out of the Woods

One of the first bloggers I encountered when I started my blog was a fantastic writer by the name of Selena Wolff. Although Selena has a gift for writing almost anything, she really does tell a good spooky story that captures the reader’s attention right from the start and has them craving more in the end. Her blog The Write Words has recently got a new name and a new look but readers can still expect to find the same high quality posts if they stop by. Recently she announced her first novel, The Gate should be available early next year. I am very pleased that Selena Wolff agreed to be one of the first featured writers on my blog.

A brief biography:

Selena Wolff was born in the MidWest, and after travelling all over the country has returned home to live a quiet life and focus on writing. Her love of horror, mysteries and memoir has been the driving force in excavating her own writing voice. With two daughters, five grandchildren, four cats, a dog, and a loving partner, her life is rich in inspiration and love. 

Current WIP’s include:

“The Gate” – 2nd draft

“Empty Houses” – memoir based on 5 recurring dreams

Ongoing flash fiction stories that may someday be compiled

Interview Questions: 

1) How often/when do you write? 

After a few years of settling into a writer’s life, I have finally come up with a discipline that works for me. Two hours a day on email, blogs, networking and anything else that needs done online; and two hours a day of dedicated writing. Even though I’d like to take those four hours and hover over them like a protective mother, I’ve discovered the value of having a life outside my own head. Connecting on Twitter and Facebook, and having my own blog has opened up a whole community for me that I would never have experienced in my own little MidWest town.

Working in a greenhouse pays the bills. But I find myself thinking of it as support of my true vocation as a writer. So whenever life gives me the gift of a few extra minutes, I’m at the computer, working on outlines, editing, and the general ‘work’ of writing.

2) What authors do you admire and why?

Stephen King has always been my favorite for pure enjoyment. A dear writer friend once suggested that I take the time to read for the sake of learning other writer’s craft. I hated it! It seemed that picking apart the pieces of their skill took all the fun out of it. But I stuck with it and found the reason that Mr. King is so successful. He has building structure, discipline, plot, suspense, and character down to a fine art. I know, obvious to so many. But I have the knack for hiding under a rock, and although the ability to hold a focus is an asset, it can also be a hindrance when it comes to noticing what goes on in the world at large. I learned a lot from him.

Another author I admire is Alice Hoffman. I read Practical Magick many years ago and fell in love with her perspective on the mysterious. Anne Rice is another one. I find that it takes discipline for me to read her work, but her attention to detail is amazing.

3) Would you prefer to be published the traditional route or would you give self/e-publishing a try?

Today I would try them all. I think I’m old school enough to actually prefer publishing the traditional way. I absolutely love the printed word. But to stay current, I believe that writers will have to be open to the changing world of publishing to succeed.

Thanks for having me here today, Billie Jo.

You are very welcome Selena, thank you for agreeing to participate.

Below is a link to the very first Selena Wolff story I ever read, enjoy!

The Well by Selena Wolff

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Featured Writers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Selena Wolff is Tuesday’s Featured Writer on Out of the Woods

  1. Janet Riehl says:

    Clearly Selena has found her way out of the woods through being in the woods–or, there abouts. She is blooming and booming. Onward!

    Janet Riehl

  2. Selena, I love what you said about wanting to hover over your writing time like a protective mother. 😀 I can be so hard finding that balance.

    I love The Well too. So dark and haunting. Can’t wait to read more of that. 😉

  3. Selena is a treasure and I think we have been friends in other lifetimes. Her writing…rocks. It is well thought out and carefully and cleverly written. I do enjoy her stories. “The Well” was one of the first of hers I read. That story began to build her reputation up in my mind, and it hasn’t quit since.

  4. Selena Wolff says:

    Billie Jo-thanks for having me! It’s always an honor. And for your kind words, thanks to Sonia, Janet and Sandra!

  5. Kaitee says:

    Great story, very emotive!

  6. Jess Witkins says:

    Selena was one of my first commenters when I started blogging, and she is so giving in her encouragement and support of other writers. Her posts are well written and inspiring. Whether she shares her poetry or a great history lesson (like a recent post on belladonna-which was referenced in the book I’m reading now and very helpful!) she always brings something interesting to the table.

    Thanks for posting a blog that highlights Ms. Selena!

  7. tsonoda148 says:

    Selena,
    I’m still working on establishing some sort of writing discipline for myself, and so far have failed. I think I will try breaking my various activities into hourly chunks as you have, and see if that works for me. I love the social networking, but find the time gets away from me. I’m easily distracted. Love that you like Stephen King. He’s one of my favorites. His “On Writing” book was stellar.
    Terri

    • Selena says:

      I agree, Terri. I have learned a lot from Mr. King.

      I have to include that discipline especially to social networking or I’d be online and never get anything done. Thanks for checking in!

Leave a Reply

