YA Novel Challenge

Theodora Goss posted a YA writing challenge on her blog. Basically she plans on writing a YA novel in three months over the summer. She invited other writers to join in with her challenge and comment or blog on their progress as well. The idea is that she will write 1,000 words a day for three months hoping to in the end have a completed YA novel of about 75,000 words.

As many of you that read my blog know, I am completely addicted to all the fantastic writing challenges that are out there and have been working on a lot of flash fiction lately. The thing is my original work in progress has suffered slightly because of this. So I am going to take this challenge very seriously myself but I am putting my current WIP on the back burner for a bit and am going to instead flesh out a new novel that my muse has recently decided needs to be written. The good news is that it has actually come to light through one of my flash pieces so I am pleased that I have done them for that reason.

How do I intend to join in this challenge?

I too hope to write at least 1,000 words a day on this new novel. I will have to be very disciplined to do this and will be updating everyone on my progress from time to time through this blog.

What about my blog spots and the flash challenges?

I will still try to post to my blog every day or so. I will treat flash fiction challenges as a reward. If I have been good and have met my word count goals than I can choose a few flash fiction challenges to take part in.

Perhaps my fellow writer/blogger friends out there want to join in on this challenge. Maybe you are half way through a novel or have finished one and you want to set a goal to edit an existing work or work on a second draft by the end of the summer. This challenge might be what you are looking for too.

 

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Writing Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to YA Novel Challenge

  1. Selena Wolff says:

    I’m in the same place. In fact, just posted about it myself. Good luck on the challenge!

  2. Cynthia Robertson says:

    Good luck, Billie Jo. I’ll be routin’ for ya!!

  3. Kaitee says:

    Excellent plan! When I get stuck on one WIP I usually move to another one to clear my head. Best of luck! 🙂

  4. laradunning says:

    I’ve been aiming for 1000K a day too, but I’m working on one wip and a couple of shorts. If summer wasn’t so busy with kids and work I’d join in too. I’m wishing everyone the best of luck!

  5. I’ve slowed way down on challenges. I love them, but my head is all in my MIP right now. I’m going to be cheering you on in your new challenge! You can definitely do it!!!

    • So far so good but we will see how it goes over the long haul. My WIP was getting stale and I was stumbling over it a bit so I figured a fresh start was what I needed and I needed a set goal to work with. Hope your MIP is shaping up the way you want it to.

  6. Amy Sundberg says:

    Hooray! I love this challenge, and I’m always excited to hear about more writers joining in. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Snowflakes in June – How I am tackling my new novel. | Out of the Woods

  8. Pingback: My life and a YA summer challenge progress update | Out of the Woods

Leave a Reply

