Pay it forward

So back in 2000 my world was so different than it is today. I was finishing up my Master’s Degree in Reading from SUNY at Albany. I was a teacher working with young children who have now grown into adults. I had no children of my own and a wealth of leisure time.

Sometime in that year, I went to see the movie Pay it Forward which featured Kevin Spacey as a teacher and Haley Joel Osment as his student. The premise of the movie I am sure you are all familiar with but just in case you aren’t I will give you a brief summary. Basically, Spacey gives Osment an assignment to do something that would change the world. So Osment decides for every good deed that is done on his behalf he will pay that forward and do three good deeds for others. The hope is that those three people will go on to do three good deeds for others and so on. It is an amazing and hopeful concept. It is also one I embraced whole heartedly.

I believe as writers within the blogging, twitter and facebook community we need to stick together and be supportive of each other. We should celebrate and publicise each others achievements. After all who better to understand how hard it is to reach huge word count goals in one sitting, finally finish a manuscript, successfully query and get an agent or finally get published than those of us who have been in similar positions or aspire to. So when I got an email off of a writer friend this morning, the concept of pay it forward came to mind. Not because I am looking for someone to do something nice for me or because I expect them to but because I also believe in the notion that what goes around comes around, Karma in a sense. My life has certainly shown me that this is true anyway.

So what was in the email?

James Rollins author of the Sigma Force series has a new book called The Devil Colony and it is making its debut on the 21st of June. In honour of this occasion there is going to be a 24 hour launch party taking place on Twitter and Facebook. My friend was asked if she would get the word out and then she in turn asked me to help as well. I know some people will be thinking why does someone as established in the writing world as James Rollins need any help with launching his new book. The answer is he probably doesn’t but since it has been asked, I will oblige. Maybe someday I too will be in his shoes and will have my own worldwide launch party. I would hope someone would want to be there to celebrate with me.

Cover of "The Devil Colony (Sigma)"

Cover of The Devil Colony (Sigma)

So here is the event:

On the 21st of June sign onto Twitter and use the #DevilColony hash tag to participate. The theme is anything devilish. You can just pop in for a visit and a chat or get creative and blog, write or take photos of yourself devilishly partying for the event and then post links so others can see how you are celebrating the launch. Rumour has it there will be random prizes awarded as well. This event is also going on over at James’ Facebook page too.

I think perhaps I will be doing a flash piece and posting it on my blog that day sticking to the devil theme of course.

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Mad Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pay it forward

  1. How coincidental that you should write a post about bloggers and writers supporting each other and recognizing each other’s achievements. I’m passing an award along to you. But as I’ve told others, you don’t have to do all the things the award asks if you don’t feel like it. (I didn’t).

    http://wp.me/p1g094-cA

    • Thanks so much for that! That was really very kind of you to think of me. I shall do a post about it perhaps for tomorrow and modify my response to the steps accordingly as well.

  2. Love it! I loved that movie too. It’s been so amazing to find such a supportive community online. I love that we can all cheer eachother on. Yipee!!

  3. You’re awesome, Billie Jo. Someday it will be you, hon. You’re a wonderful writer with a great imagination. Never stop believing it.

  4. noobcake says:

    What a cool way to get the word out about a novel. Paying it forward works everywhere and if it helps someone with their book I’m happy to take part – excellent idea!

  5. Pingback: Silver Screen Wishes and Movie Theater Dreams | Sonia G Medeiros

  6. Pingback: A Dance with the Devil | Out of the Woods

Leave a Reply

