What happened to summer?

Last week my kids went back to school which means craziness has returned to our home. We are back to dashing here and dashing there. I already miss the slower pace of summer.

I have developed a heavier heart this week. I feel colder. The world seems darker. It is as if I am starting to mourn the passing of summer already. The stores have even started started decorating their windows with red, orange and yellow hues and as I amble by them wearing my recently unpacked cardigans it feels as though they are taunting me.

Since autumn is just around the corner, I have had to admit to myself that I did not accomplish all the goals I had set for myself for this summer. I wanted to finish editing and rewriting my one novel and complete one entire first draft of another by the first week of September. Perhaps I was a bit over ambitious but neither of those two things happened. I am pleased with my rewriting/editing progress and have a better sense of direction with that novel after focusing on it during the month of August and I managed to get about a third of the way through two different first drafts that i look forward to returning to once I am satisfied with my final polishing touches on the novel I am editing.

I have also been playing around with some fun and challenging projects that will all be posted on here throughout the month of September.

I am part of Voice Week which has me contemplating and working on writing a scene told from five different character’s point of views to improve on my ability to use different voices within a narrative.

Ozlem Yikici has recently posted a writing game on her blog which I am intrigued by and have agreed to participate in it.

I am working out a more structured approach to my blog posts with set days for certain ramblings and themes. Possibly bringing back my featured writer posts which proved so popular earlier in the summer and adding other features as well. I hope to reveal  more in a few weeks.

 

 

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Mad Ramblings, Writing Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What happened to summer?

  1. I wish summer would come back…. I love summer. I hate the school year. It is much more work… aiiieee!!

    Thanks for a thought provoking post.

    Darlene

  2. catwoods says:

    Ironically, when summer ends and the kids return to school, my days become more focused for writing time. Funny how that works for different families.

    But, I do acutely feel the silence of my home now that the joyous–and raucous–summer months have passed. Hopefully you will fill your quiet moments with reaching your writing goals.

    hugs and best luck with your projects and challenges.

    • For me it means I have to go back to being a late night or early morning writer because they seem to always have something on after school or at the weekend during the school year. I will readjust eventually but the days feels a bit unbalanced at the moment. Thanks for the cyber hugs and luck.

  3. Lara Dunning says:

    I’ve done character POV for scenes before. Its a fun exercise and really helps with understanding the craft/art of it better. I wish I had a slow summer, mine was crazy. I was just thinking today that I was glad things had slowed down and gotten on more of a schedule. Seems like its the opposite for you. Hopefully with the kids in school you’ll have some dedicated writing. Sounds like you’ve got some great things planned for the upcoming year. Good luck!

    • I will get the schedule worked out soon but it does just feel a bit crazy at the moment. I think the Voice Week challenge will be a good one, it will be interesting to see how the other writers work with it too.

  4. Looking forward to seeing what the autumn brings to Out of the Woods. Good Luck, Billie Jo!

Leave a Reply

