October already?

This week has been fabulous for me. I participated in voice week and have to say that the quality of writing produced by the other writers was amazing. It was a fabulous experience for me and I am so glad I did it. I apologise for not getting around to many of the blogs I read regularly this week but I was honestly totally immersed in the experience.

So believe it or not it is October already. I adore October because it has my favourite all time holiday in it. Yes, I have always been and will always be a giant Halloween junkie. I love for one day I can dress however I want and take on another persona and not look completely out of place doing it.

Now since it is October it means last month’s challenge has come to an end. It was a Back to School theme. Here are the fabulous entries from that challenge:

Michael Lyons gave us a fantastic and very creative back to school tale called School Daze.

Ozlem Yikici decided to combine challenges again and came up with an interesting twist that involved the school theme based on Hansel and Gretel.

October is shaping up to be a very busy month already. I have signed up for NaNoWriMo and will busy working on a very extensive outline this month in hopes of being able to complete the challenge. I have never participated before and have never written anything that fast so it will be a true challenge for me. It will also force me to use all the new organisational skills I have practised lately and it will mean I can not fall back on my pantser habits.

I have nearly finished rewriting and editing my novel and have lined up another beta reader to send it off to when it is finished. I hope it will be received well!

I have agreed to guest blog on a couple of my friends blogs over the next couple of months and have joined in a few interesting writing projects. I also am beta reading someone else’s novel for the first time.

All this is very exciting but will no doubt be quite time consuming. I have decided not to issue a challenge for this month. I will continue writing What if? Wednesday and Fearsome Friday and figure if either of those inspires someone to write about the topics discussed then I welcome them sharing their stories and will link them in my blog posts.

How about all of you? Any exciting news or projects in the works?

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Mad Ramblings, Writing Challenges, Writing Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to October already?

  1. I love October as well…mostly for the crisp, spicy air and the beautiful colors that Nature adorns herself with at this time of year. And, can we say jumping into piles of leaves? (I still do it :P)

    NaNoWriMo, which stands for National Novel Writing Month (November) is one of the greatest writing experiences you might ever have. It definitely was for me, especially the first time. I took, as the framework, a flash fiction story I had written about a modern-day witch and placed the new story 100 years later (a relatively short period in a witch’s life). It became my novel Witchcanery, which was self-published, has won several awards, and has been read by dozens of people around the world.

    Nano forced me to keep on keeping on. Beds were left unmade, blogs were temporarily abandoned, my answering machine held my telephone conversations for me, and gallons of coffee went down my gullet. But I did it…54,290 words by Nov. 28th (a minimum of 1, 667 words per day – 2 days early!). I loved it. It got me out of my intellect and into my feeling part where the real stories are. And flowed.

    Remember that no one is going to read your story unless you give it to them. Nano doesn’t even care if you scramble your story before you submit it. The ONLY criteria is 50,000 words or more by midnight local time on November 30th. And the whole thing is free, but you must register before midnight October 31 local time.

    Of course, the honor system applies to the other rules: that it has not been written before and is a unique, first-time novel written by you (yes, it has to be a novel, no non-fiction or poetry in this one). Abandon yourself to your Muse and have one whale of a time. You just might end up with something you love (and so does everyone else). Good luck.

    • I have a very good idea about what I am going to do for NaNoWriMo. It is a novel I have wanted to write but feel it is a risky one for me to write. It is different than my other stuff. I have a passion for it though so I figured why not have a good go at it.

  2. Janece says:

    Hey Billy Jo! YOUR writing during this past Voice Week was some of the best! 🙂 Can’t wait to see who wins the prizes tomorrow…I think we’re all winners! LOL

    How fun that you’re going to do Nano this year. This will be my 4th..5th??? tour of duty. Let me know if you’d like to be writing buddies. I write under the name JaneBond 🙂 I find that if I stay on track with my word count from the very beginnging (in fact, maybe doing 2 and 3 times the word count in the early days ) it helps a lot. Not sure what’s up with me. I’ve fizzled out after 30, 000 words somewhere around the end of week 2. But things are so much different for me this year, I’m very optimistic in finishing. Would love to encourage you through your process as well!

    • Thank you so much for that Janece.

      Yeah, it is my first NaNoWriMo. I have been outlining my novel this weekend and researching for it too so that hopefully when the time comes I can just let it flow. It is exciting!

      I certainly could use a buddy to help me through this. I plan on blogging about my progress because I find so many of my blog friends to be great supporters. 30,000 words in the first two weeks is great progress. I have three novels that have only made it to about 30,000 words before I lost interest or momentum or something like that. If I make it past 30,000, I consider myself in the clear.

      Glad to have been able to “meet” you.

  3. Yay on getting ready for NaNoWriMo! I’m not planning to it this year. Still working on that durn MIP. 😀 I can’t wait to hear about your experience though.

    • I debated doing it because I am editing or rewriting two other novels at the moment but the one needs to go to the beta readers before I can do more with it. Since the other is the sequel to the first one I figure that can wait until I get the reaction from the beta readers on the first before I do anything else with that either. So I decided why not give it a go. Thanks for the encouragement. I guess we will see how well these outlines work when writing under pressure. 🙂

  4. robinhawke says:

    My NaNo concerns: I’ll end up with such dreck that I’ll never edit; I’ll quit after the 18th.

    I’ve never participated. It sounds exciting, but how in the world does Thanksgiving fit in?

    Robin

    • Ah, yes, Thanksgiving, perhaps you would have to bank some words so you could have the time off. I have crossed over to England now so I am the only one around that celebrates Thanksgiving so it ends up being pretty much the same as any other day except I have a few family members around for dinner and subject them to pumpkin desserts. I do have to work around bonfire night though. 😉

Leave a Reply

