River of Stones – Day #9

As I posted before, I have decided to participate in River of Stones. I have not been posting my writing on my blog each day but I have been keeping it in my journal. I figured I would post all the ones that I have done so far.

A River of Stones January 2012 is where people are encouraged to:

1. Notice something properly every day during January.
2. Write it down.

 

Day 1 – Tick, he inhales loudly, click, he gently rumbles, clack, he lets out his great big sigh. For the warmth he provides it is worth listening to all his groaning.

Day 2 – The hardened coolness of the dark chocolate dissolves into a divine mess of warmth oozing over my tongue. The taste lingers. I want more.

Day 3 – My authorhood dreams leave shiny scars on my favourite laptop keys.

Day 4 – Each tiny tendril weaves around the next creating the ivy jungle which is now lush and thick. Is there still a fence behind there?

Day 5 – In passing, beauty hides behind a drunken mask. Up close, pieces of her elegant youth can escape between the cracks.

Day 6 – Rain dapples the earth leaving behind muddy holes and wormy smells.

Day 7 – Droplets of water spread fast and furious once they ripple out they can never be the same again.

Day 8 – Eyes widen, ears attune to every sound, and hairs stand up. The night senses get put to the test.

Day 9 – The cool, slick freshness of clean bed linen has its place but the rumpled warmth and comfort of the familiar is not bad either.

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Writing Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to River of Stones – Day #9

  1. Selena says:

    You have a poetic soul, Billie Jo. Beautiful post.

  2. Thank you Selena. This has been a fun challenge. I needed to take time to really look at things again. I have been to stuck in my own head. I have been happily thinking but forgetting to live a little too.

  3. Indigo Spider says:

    You are the second blog I’ve seen participating in this challenge. I was interested after reading the first few entries from the other blog but your entries are so poetic as well that I think I might have to jump on board. I have been too introverted the last few years and this seems like a gentle way to start moving outwards and notice the ‘real’ world a little more!

    • I look forward to seeing how you interpret the project and the world around you. I find even the few moments spent consciously looking are helping me to take more and more time to see.

  4. Pingback: A River of Stones: Day 9 | Inspired Vision

  5. pattisj says:

    Enjoyed reading these, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

