Why the Closing Ceremonies Were Good… in more ways than one

As some of you may know and more of you probably won’t, my father’s version of lullaby music for me was British punk straight from the 1970s. I spent my toddler years on a musical diet of The Clash and Sex Pistols. So it should come as no surprise that I have been pretty tuned into British music long before I ever crossed the big pond and moved to England. From an entertainment point of view the closing ceremonies of the 2012 Olympics in London were amazing in my opinion. And although I could have done without seeing Jessie J perform or the likes of the Spice Girls the medley of performances by some of the other musical acts lived up to my expectation. Some of the highlights for me include the Freddie Mercury video, the performances by Queen, Kaiser Chiefs, Beady Eye, Muse and The Who. Honestly though, I think there was something for everyone last night including my daughter’s current favourite which is One Direction but we will let her off because she is only young.

Seeing the athletes enjoy themselves was quite good too. We have watched them work hard to win and in the case of some do well with incredible consistency which made them sometimes seem a bit like machines. The closing ceremonies made them seem more human. I only wish I could have been there for the party.

Watching the games through the eyes of my children have made them some of the most memorable ones I have lived through to date. My children sat up late each night and got excited over the events. They then spent most of the next day acting them out in the living room. It is amazing to watch them be inspired as much as I was in my youth. Therefore, the end of the games was a sad moment in our house. The extinguishing of the torch brought genuine tears to our eyes. However, the lowering of the flag and the reminder that it will be on display in other Olympic games in other host cities in the future gives us something to look forward to.

Finally, I have not been very productive during the games. My writing has been slipping into a state of almost non-existence. Today with no games to distract me into a long break I managed to rack up a total of 10k words on my August NaNoWriMo novel. I have made it so I may be able to actually finish the 50k words on time.

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Mad Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why the Closing Ceremonies Were Good… in more ways than one

  1. Shadlyn says:

    Gotta love those 10K days! Good luck on your WriMo! (I’m skipping this month to focus on other projects, but I’ll be back in the groove come November!)

    • Thanks for the support as usual. I needed the kick start. I had a project that I was thinking about a lot but just not writing. I figured this would get me doing more writing and less thinking.

  2. pattisj says:

    Sometimes a break from writing is a good thing, giving ideas room to grow. I’d say your word count is proof of that! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

