Voice Week – Post 1 – October 1st

I have not posted anything in nearly a month but it is Voice Week and I enjoyed it so much last year I could not help but return again this year.

Voice Week involves writing five pieces on a theme and experimenting with the voices of the different characters.

Here is my first entry:

I run my finger around the rim of my now empty glass trying to capture the gaze of the bartender once again. I tell my finger to ignore the stickiness leftover from the sugar rim. It had looked so tempting. I could not resist discretely suckling off its sweetness. After a day like today, the sea blue liquid in the glass did not last long either.

“Ladies always sip,” my grandmother would always say.

Well I am no lady. If I were, I would not be sitting in this place.

The scent of staleness permeates the air. A coating of grime sticks me to my seat. It is going to be a long night.

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Voice Week. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Voice Week – Post 1 – October 1st

  1. Pingback: Voice Week – Post 1 – October 1st | Out of the Woods « Voice Week HQ

  2. She seems resigned, but not quite jaded. Probably in her thirties, no longer green, but far from gold. She’s complex. I like her.

  3. TheOthers1 says:

    I’ve felt this way before. Trapped, resigned.

  4. I love the atmosphere, and the words you used captured her mood perfectly. Makes me wonder what exactly went wrong with her day.
    =)

  5. Parul says:

    A complex character… very real, very strange, very believable..
    Looking forward to the rest of it!

  6. Carrie says:

    She wants to be something different than what she is, I think. There is a sense of hopelessness and a bit of anger and frustration

  7. Paul says:

    In real life I wouldn’t be caught dead with a woman like this or in a bar like that. But here, I just want to grab a seat and listen to this woman all night long. Great atmosphere with more than a hint of desperation. Give me another!

  8. Mike says:

    A great start to your Voice Week Billie Jo.
    Sounds like she’s in one hell of a dump and whatever is coming up is not going to be good.
    Looking forward to day 2.

Leave a Reply

