NaNoWriMo No No List

As a twice winner of NaNoWriMo you would think that I would be getting better at this writing 50K words in a month thing. Okay, so it was me who thought I was getting good at it. Turns out this time around is not going so well at the moment.

It seems my writing partner, Inspiration, gave me a great idea this time but then she left me to flesh it out all on my own. Usually she stays by my side through the writing process. It seems she decided a holiday was in order.

Without inspiration I have found that when I do schedule myself some writing time, I am picking up some NaNoWriMo no nos such as:

Facebook Games

How many ball shooting, bubble bursting games are there out there? I do not know but I seem to have found a great many of them to occupy my limited spare time.

Snack Breaks

NaNo seems to have fallen in line with my mother’s latest care package filled with sweets arriving from the states. I cannot resist trying just one more Mystery Skittle and trying to guess what flavour it will be (they are after all one colour on the outside and a different flavour on the inside) or trying to see how many licks it takes to get to the centre of a Tootsie Pop.

Television

Homeland is my new must see television series. Combine that with a few of my old favourites and there is one more reason to curl up in bed and avoid writing.

Books

I am currently reading Uglies by Scott Westerfield and it is enough of a distraction from writing when I want it to be.

Films

Well, I had to go see Starfall didn’t I? Then of course I decided to have an Austin Powers followed by a Shrek film marathon with the kids. I also enjoy working my way through the Marvel films too but they are usual staples in my house.

This blog post!

Currently, I am on Twitter complaining about my lack of time and inspiration for writing and yet I am also writing this post. A little ironic but it had to be done.

Now I am off to try to get 6,000 words written to catch up with my expected NaNo word count for day 11.

How about all of you? How are your own writing projects going? What do you find to be the no no distractions at the moment?

 

 

 

 

 

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a primary and middle school teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three and a wannabe author.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NaNoWriMo No No List

  1. Never done Nano, but definitely would like to some year. Several of my workshop participants are attempting it this year.
    I’m staying off Twitter, FB and not blogging much in an attempt to finally get my huge historical novel completed. Love social media, but it is a total distraction.
    Good luck, Billie Jo…Love the new photo, btw!

    • Thank you Cynthia! I figured I needed a more recent version of me for an avatar.

      NaNo is hard and so is historical fiction. Both together might be a hair pulling endeavour. I have not blogged much lately either so I could focus on my novel writing. This NaNo novel is actually the second half of the one I wrote for the last NaNo challenge. I figured I would try to finish it this way.

      How is the novel coming along?

  2. pattisj says:

    Enjoyed reading, and heaved a sigh of relief to not be writing this November. I’m glad your mom was looking out for you, so you didn’t starve while writing this month. I may have to buy some Tootsie Pops. Haven’t had those in years! Blogging takes all my time, spare and otherwise! Hope Inspiration returns to finish the job!

  3. Greetings, fellow Wrimos. Sorry to hear you’re having a falling out with Inspiration. Maybe woo her with some good night’s sleep and a healthy veggie-heavy meal? I, for once, am doing quite well this year (my fourth Nano adventure). My Muse has been singing to me quite a bit, and I am having a lot of fun writing this novel. It’s quite a difference from my usual fantasy novels, so I am interested to see how it turns out. (More of an end of the world fantasy in modern day–it’s called The Rocky Road to the End of the World. I don’t know if it has a happy ending or not. I suspect it will be a bitter-sweet ending.)

    Good luck on your Nano adventure. I don’t know what makes the Muse/Inspiration get busy. I have never pinned it down, but I do know that Muse + Nano magic = lots of fun and a darned good story 😀

  4. This is the first year I’m not doing nanowrimo in a long time, mostly because I have some serious editing to continue doing on earlier stories, but I’ve always been good at distracting myself away from writing/editing. Facebook is huge, and for a while I became a bit of an expert at Spider Solitaire. It’s a terrible addiction. I finally started forcing myself to get up at 4 or 5 in the morning to write, because then any time I waste feels like a tragedy. I still waste time, but not as much. 🙂

    Good luck with the rest of November!

  5. Pete Denton says:

    Good luck with resisting the temptations and hitting your word targets. I resisted NaNo this time. After doing the August version I knew I didn’t have it in me. I’m sure something will click and inspiration will return to let you finish again.

    Happy writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

