Defying Gravity

Ozlem Yikici recently issued a Triptych Trials Challenge. I was too busy to participate in the last one she issued but since I have met my word count goals for the past few days, I let myself have a little break from novel writing to participate this time.

Her challenge is truly a challenge and I am not sure whether or not my piece works for it but here are the rules:

You can chose any of the prompts she has issued which include this picture:

The following few lines of poetry:

Tear out a page of the book and make an aeroplane.
Launch it.  For an instant it seems that you have fashioned
A shape that can outwit air, that has slipped the knot.
But no.  The earth turns, the winch tightens, it is wound in.

-Defying Gravity by Roger McGough

or a mannerism art movement piece. The word count limit is 500-1000 words in the genre of your choice. She has given us until the end of the month to complete the challenge.

I was inspired by the picture and the lines of poetry to create the following very short written piece. It is not in my usual style and it is a bit abstract but it was fun to do.

Defying Gravity

I drifted off to sleep in the shade of protective St Paul’s, it’s one of my favourite haunts to visit whenever I was in the city, its age and beauty always made me feel humbled. Across my lap was spread my charity shop bought copy of Roger McGough’s, Defying Gravity, I always fancied myself a scholar but instead I went to the school of life, having spent most of my life on a fishing boat .

As I relaxed, my body melted into a watery puddle on the ground and flowed like the Thames.

A young girl skipped by and scooped a bit of me up with the tip of her bubble wand.

Freely soaring above the London skyline, I rose higher and higher.

I was defying gravity.

I arrived at my destination and I danced graciously with the gods, getting the feeling my life would never be the same again. I wanted to remain with them in that high place forever and ever.

Then gravity won.

As the air inside of me was expelled rapidly, I fell lower and lower.

A bird flew by and I landed temporarily on its wing, I beaded together and slid off.

I tensed as I hit the water’s surface, the force submerged me and once again I was whole.

As I awoke, I gasped for breath, relieved that I was once again in my beloved Venice, the canal was my home, it always made me feel anchored. My cat curled up across my lap was startled by my sudden movement. Soon I would retire, twenty-five years as an academic dean had taught me that a simple life spent fishing was what I wanted to do with my remaining years.

 

 

 

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three who doesn’t really know what she wants to be when she grows up.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Defying Gravity

  1. yikici says:

    Oh wow! This is a beautiful tale pulling on the strings of a dreamlike world; I was floating too into the clouds a bubble on tender hooks, flowing freely… You’ve worked magic with the prompts! A wonderful achievement! Thank you for taking part and I’m glad you reached your word goals -well done!

    • I am glad you liked it and feel it worked for your prompts. They were really cool prompts. I wanted to work in mannerism somehow as well but just couldn’t come up with anything that really fit with the piece. I will admit, I am relieved to have caught up to the goals I set myself. Hopefully, I will not get behind again.

  2. Gene Lempp says:

    Cool story Billie Jo! Great work 🙂

  3. Oooh! l love the way it slips from “real world” to “dream world” and back again.

  4. Hey, Billie. Thanks for sharing about the challenge. It sounds like a lot of fun. I might just join in, too.

    I thought I subscribed to your blog but I see from all your entries I haven’t. I tried again so hopefully I’ll be flagged when you post again.

  5. Thanks for popping by again. It was a great challenge. She has decided to do it monthly so there will be more to come. I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  6. Pingback: Challenge Issued: Transparent Tapestries « yikici

  7. Pingback: » Challenge Issued: Transparent Tapestries yikici

  8. Pingback: yikici | Challenge Issued: Transparent Tapestries

Leave a comment