Happy Birthday InMon

The deadly paper is a society created plague.

Desire to know all, blinded to truth, results in consequence.

Trees shedding their life now fighting back.

Poisoned ink dealing its swift blows.

Deafening headlines bursting eardrums as unspoken words imprint the mind.

The last place you look leaving twisted memories.

They took it away or so they said but its torment still raged.

The city that never wakes now became commonplace.

One of the first weekly flash fiction challenges I stumbled across when I started blogging was BeKindReWrite’s Inspiration Mondays. I have not been doing very many challenges lately as my focus has mainly been on writing my newest novel but when I saw it was the one year birthday, I just had to join in.

The prompts this time around were:

Deadly paper
The city that never wakes
Deafening
Last place you look
They took it away

When I looked at the prompts they all sort of looked as though they were already forming their own sinister story. So I played with them a little and what I wrote above was the result.

About Billie Jo Schinnerer

Born and raised on the edge of the Helderberg Escarpment in eastern New York. Formerly a teacher. Moved to the North West area of England in 2003. Now a mother of three who doesn’t really know what she wants to be when she grows up.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Birthday InMon

  1. Jody Moller says:

    I love it Billie Jo. I read these prompts the other day and have a half written story which hopefully I will get finished and posted.

  2. yikici says:

    Very eerie and sinister. I love the opening line -so much can be read into it; you kind of want to know what kind of a plague has society created. Can be meshed into today’s world in a creepy way -a plague could be a multitude of thing -oooer. (Tell me if you think I’ve gone off a tangent here lol.)

    I didn’t realise it was their birthday too; need to pop over and celebrate it.

  3. Pingback: yikici | InMon-ster: Deathly Living Scrolls

  4. What a creepy cool concept. Makes you think. We think we’re building when we write, but what if it’s the opposite?

    So good to read from you again!

  5. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: note to self « BeKindRewrite

  6. Pingback: Apocalypse Runner, 03-19-12 | My Writer's Cramp

  7. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: note to self | bekindrewrite

Leave a comment